Friday, 29 January 2016

UK 2016 Commonwealth Masters Scholarship To Study In UK

Applications are currently ongoing for the UK 2016 Commonwealth Masters Scholarship. Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the United Kingdom (CSC) in partnership with UK universities offers Commonwealth Shared Scholarships for students from developing Commonwealth countries. Shared Scholarships are usually tenable for one-year Master’s courses only.


Commonwealth Masters Scholarship Scholarships are available for pursuing master’s degree program at UK Institutions.

Fields of Study:

Scholarships are awarded to study subjects related to the development of their home country at participating UK universities only.

Scholarship Benefits:

Shared Scholarships are jointly funded by the CSC and participating UK universities. Each Scholarship provides:
-Approved airfare from their home country to the UK and return at the end of their award (arranged by the university; funded by the CSC)
-Approved tuition and examination fees (funded by the CSC)
-Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,034 per month, or £1,268 per month for those studying at universities in the London metropolitan area (rates quoted at 2015-2016 levels) (paid and funded by the university)
-Thesis grant towards the cost of preparing a dissertation, where applicable (claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC)
-Warm clothing allowance and visa reimbursement, where applicable (paid and funded by the university)
-Study travel grant towards the costs of study-related travel within the UK or overseas (claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC)
-Excess baggage allowance, up to an annual approved limit, when returning home (claimed from and paid by the university; funded by the CSC)
-No additional allowances are available for spouses or other dependants.

Scholarship can be taken at:


Eligibility Criteria:

To apply for these Commonwealth Masters Scholarship scholarships, applicants must fulfill the given criteria:
-Be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British protected person
-Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country. For a full list of eligible countries
-Be available to start their academic studies in the UK by the start of the UK academic year in September/ October 2016
-By August 2016, hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard
-Not have studied or worked for one (academic) year or more in a developed country
-Be unable, either them self or through their family, to pay to study in the UK
-The CSC promotes equal opportunity, gender equity, and cultural exchange. Applications are encouraged from a diverse range of candidates.

Eligible Countries:

Students of developing Commonwealth countries (Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Virgin Islands (British), Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn  Islands, Rwanda, St Helena, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and The Grenadines, Seychelles, Samoa, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Zambia and Zimbabwe) can apply for these Commonwealth Shared Scholarships.

Admission Requirements

Entrance Requirements: In order to be eligible applicants must hold a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honours standard.
English language Requirements: If applicants require a Tier 4 visa to come to the UK to study, they may be required to take an approved English language test and/or be screened for tuberculosis for your visa application. These regulations are subject to change at any time.

How to Apply:

Applicant should apply to study an eligible Master’s course at a UK university that is participating in the Shared Scholarship scheme. Applicant must make their application using the CSC’s Electronic Application System (EAS). Applicant can apply for more than one course and/or to more than one university, but they may only accept one offer of a Shared Scholarship. The CSC will not accept any applications that are not submitted via the EAS to their UK University or applications directly from individuals.

Application Deadline:

All applications must be submitted by 1 April 2016 at the latest. Each university has its own closing date for applications, and most fall before 1 April 2016. Applicants must submit their application by the date advised by their UK university.



Is an internet marketer and also a publisher at All University News which was created to give the public the latest happenings in tertiary institutions, and scholarship information worldwide.