Wednesday, 14 December 2016

UK Department for International Development (DFID) 2017 Scholarships for International Students in UK

UK Department for International Development (DFID) is funding Commonwealth Scholarships for Masters and PhD programs from developing countries applicants. These Commonwealth Scholarships are offered in many UK universities. UK Department for International Development (DFID) aim is supporting excellence in UK higher education, and sustaining the principles of the Commonwealth.

Field of Study / Subjects
All subject areas are eligible for Masters and PhD programs at the UK universities

Number of Scholarships
About 300 scholarships are awarded each year.

Duration of Scholarship
Commonwealth Scholarships duration to Master’s one-year courses only and PhD 2 to 3 years

Scholarship Description / Details

  • Each Commonwealth Scholarships provides:
  • Airfare ticket from home country to the UK and return at the end of award
  • Cover tuition and examination fees
  • Stipend (living allowance) at the rate of £1,043 per month, or (£1,279 per month for universities in the London student only)
  • Thesis grant
  • Warm clothing allowance
  • Study travel grant
  • Fieldwork grant towards the cost of fieldwork undertaken overseas (for PhD Scholars)
  • Paid mid-term visit (airfare) to home country (for PhD Scholars)
Eligibility Criteria
To apply for Commonwealth Scholarships, candidates must:
  • Be a Commonwealth citizen, refugee, or British protected person
  • Be permanently resident in a developing Commonwealth country:
  • Anguilla, Antigua and Barbuda, Bangladesh, Barbados, Belize, Bermuda, Botswana, Cameroon, Cayman Islands, Dominica, Falkland Islands, Fiji, Ghana, Gibraltar, Grenada, Guyana, India, Jamaica, Kenya, Kiribati, Lesotho, Malawi, Malaysia, Maldives, Mauritius, Montserrat, Mozambique, Namibia, Nauru, Nigeria, Pakistan, Papua New Guinea, Pitcairn Islands, Rwanda, St Helen, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, Seychelles, Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Swaziland, Tanzania, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Turks and Caicos Islands, Tuvalu, Uganda, Vanuatu, Virgin Islands (British), Zambia
  • Complete a first degree of at least upper second class (2:1) honors standard, or a second class degree and a relevant postgraduate qualification (for PhD program)
 How to Apply / Download Scholarship Form / Documents Required
  • Applicants should apply online
  • Supporting documents:
  • References from at least two individuals
  • Transcripts
  • Supporting statement (for PhD candidates only)
  •  Institutions named on application form
Contact us:
  • Commonwealth Scholarship Commission in the UK
  • Woburn House
  • 20-24 Tavistock Square
  • London WC1H 9HF
  • United Kingdom
Last Date to Apply / Deadline: 29th March (annual)
Official Website: Visit the main site



Is an internet marketer and also a publisher at All University News which was created to give the public the latest happenings in tertiary institutions, and scholarship information worldwide.